Wallwisher becomes Padlet – and reminds me that it’s pretty handy!

Quite some months ago I set up my Wallwisher account and thought I’d try it out with some classes – primarily, I thought, to gain some anonymous feedback as lessons progressed, allowing me to tailor subsequent lesson to address the feedback received. I did – then forgot about it when we swung into exam mode and then extended holidays.

Wallwisher came back onto my radar today in its new incarnatiion, Padlet, with the same simple to use features in a more advanced form.

Reminded of how useful it is for quick ‘snapshots’ of student learning, I quickly set up a wall (pad?) for my Year 12 class and asked them to post on the wall as follows, about our current unit of study:

  • a note on the right = something they enjoyed or really felt rewarded by
  • a note on the left = something a bit ‘meh’, or they weren’t satisfied by
  • a note in the middle = something interesting they will take away

This simple visual division helped me see at a glance certain trends, and the anonymity encouraged frank (but polite!) expressions of opinion.

Now it’s back on the radar, I can see Padlet/Wallwisher coming out often….

One thought on “Wallwisher becomes Padlet – and reminds me that it’s pretty handy!”

  1. An email from Padlet today tells me that I can “export Padlet Walls to image, PDF, Excel, or CSV formats” now. The Excel or CSV formats lose the layout but appear to keep the chronological order; the PDF and imae formats are fairly faithful from what I can see. A great way to archive / transfer walls to different media where editing them is no longer a requirement.

Leave a Reply

